CoMPPrag2018: Computational Models of Language Generation and Processing in Pragmatics

Workshop Description

The workshop “Computational Models of Language Generation and Processing in Pragmatics” will take place at Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany, on September 26-28, 2018.

Computational pragmatics, understood as an interdisciplinary field at the interface between Linguistics, Cognitive Science, Artificial Intelligence and Philosophy provides computational models of pragmatic reasoning that are intrinsically tied to experimentally collected data and their analysis. It covers different aspects of pragmatic reasoning, and it might be understood as an interdisciplinary endeavor to understand how contextual information influences the production and interpretation of utterances.


The workshop schedule can be downloaded here.

Getting to Bochum

Please click here for information about getting to the venue.

Call for Papers

With this workshop, we are primarily targeting contributions that develop computational models as a method that advances our understanding of cognitive and neural processes underlying language use. In particular, the workshop will provide a forum for the discussion of methodological questions and related theoretical issues that arise for researchers working at the interface between computational modelling and experimental research. Topics of the workshop include, but are not limited to, the following issues:

We invite submissions of extended abstracts (2 pages), outlining original research and innovative approaches, to be sent to:

Important Dates

June 10th: Deadline for submissions
August 1st: Notification of acceptance
September 1st: Camera-ready versions of the submissions
September 26-28: Workshop

Invited Speakers

Nicole Gotzner (ZAS, Berlin, Germany)
Ehud Reiter (University of Aberdeen)
Hannah Rohde (University of Edinburgh)
Matthew Stone (Rutgers University)
Fabian Triefenbach (Amazon)

Organizing Committee

Anton Benz (ZAS, Berlin, Germany)
Michael Franke (Tübingen University, Germany)
Christoph Hesse (ZAS, Berlin, Germany)
Ralf Klabunde (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Matthias Unterhuber (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Markus Werning (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)